English EN
Menü

Locus Ludi

Auf den Punkt gebracht

Spiele als Zeitvertreib für Kinder? Nicht in der Antike! Dort spielten Männern, Frauen, Kinder, freie Bürger und Sklaven – und laut Überlieferung sogar Götter!
Hatten diese Gruppen jeweils eigene Spiele? Können wir diese Spiele mit unseren modernen Spielen vergleichen? Einige Antworten will das Projekt Locus Ludi geben, das die Spielekultur der Antike untersucht.
Die Universität Freiburg, Schweiz und die Universität für angewandte Kunst, Wien untersuchen vier klassische Spiele. Basierend auf ihren wissenschaftlichen Ergebnissen entwickeln Gentle Troll und Causa Creations eine moderne Version der Spiele für Smartphones und PC.

Spiele gab es zu allen Zeiten und wird es wohl immer geben. Das zeigt das Projekt Locus Ludi – The Cultural Fabric of Play and Games in Classical Antiquity, das sich mit der Spielekultur in der Antike befasst. In einem interdisziplinären Team identifizieren, kategorisieren und rekonstruieren die Projektpartner vier klassische Spiele aus dieser Zeit. Die Analyse der Spiele zeigt eine neue Perspektive der antiken Kultur und Gesellschaft, bietet Modelle für Bildung und Forschung in verwandten Bereichen sowie aktuelles Material für Schulen, Museen und Bibliotheken. Wenn wir verstehen, wie Bildung, Gesellschaft und Integration damals zusammenhingen, erhalten wir ein besseres Verständnis für die heutige Debatte über Hightech-Spiele und digitale Communities.

Die Universität Freiburg (Schweiz) und die Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien untersuchen vier antike Spiele in zwei Varianten in ihrem jeweiligen historischen Kontext. Die Spielregeln rekonstruierte der Experte Ulrich Schädler, Archäologe und Direktor des Schweizer Spielmuseums und ERC-Mitglied, anhand von antiken Textüberlieferungen und archäologischen Funden. Basierend auf den wissenschaftlichen Ergebnissen entwickeln Gentle Troll und Causa Creations eine moderne Version der Spiele für Smartphones und PC. Um eine Vorliebe für eine bestimmte Spielvariante herauszufinden, werden Grundschüler aus zwei Wiener Schulen beide Spielversionen testen.

Das Projekt erhält Förderung durch den Europäischen Forchungsrat (ERC) im Rahmen des Europäischen Förderprogramms Horizon 2020 für Forschung und Entwicklung (Fördernummer 741520).

Mehr Informationen gibt es auf der Webseite von Locus Ludi und auf dem Twitter-Channel.

Locus Ludi

In aller Kürze

Deutsch DE
Menu

Locus Ludi

In a nutshell

Are games just children's pastimes? Not in classical antiquity! There, all members of society were playing games: men, women, children, free citizens, slaves – and as lore says, even gods!
Did they play together or did they have different games with distinct rules? And were the games like our modern games?
The project Locus Ludi analyzes the game culture of ancient times to get answers to all of these questions. The project partners of the University of Fribourg and of the University of Applied Arts Vienna study four classical games. Based on their scientific results Gentle Troll and Causa Creations develop the modern version of the games for computers and smartphones.

Games are as old as time and will never get out of date. The project Locus Ludi – The Cultural Fabric of Play and Games in Classical Antiquity focuses on the game culture in classical antiquity. An interdisciplinary team identifies, categorizes and reconstructs classical games. The analysis of games opens up a new perspective on the cultural fabric of ancient society, provides models for education and research in related fields, as well as up-to-date material for schools, museums and libraries. Understanding the role of education, society and integration in the past is important in understanding the present and broadening the debate on high-tech toys and new ways of being together.

The University of Fribourg and the University of Applied Arts Vienna reconstruct four ancient games in two variants in their historical context. The rules of the games are reconstructed by expert Ulrich Schädler, archaeologist and director of the Swiss Museum of Games, and member of the ERC team, using ancient literary and archeological evidence. Based on the scientific results Gentle Troll and Causa Creations develop the modern version of the four games for computers and smartphones. To discover a preference for a certain game variation, pupils at two elementary schools in Vienna will play both variations of the games, as will visitors on the ERC Locusludi website.

This project has received funding from the European Research Council (ERC) under the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation program (grant agreement No. 741520).

More on the Locusludi Website or visit the Twitter channel.

Locus Ludi

Game facts